top of page
  • Writer's pictureBeth Wardell

Enjoy outdoor theatre this summer as Wind In The Willows comes to Alnwick.

Alnwick Playhouse proudly presents the retelling of Kenneth Grahame's much-loved classic: Wind In The Willows, to be performed at the Alnwick Garden this summer.


Throughout the summer holidays, Alnwick Playhouse are putting on an ambitious programme that sees a performance almost every day during the school break. Running from Friday 28th July until Saturday 26th August, you can book your tickets for this outdoor theatre production via the Playhouse website.


Check out this post on North East Family Fun for your exclusive 20% off discount code. Tickets to see the production also include free entry to the Garden on your day of visit, so you can spend some time exploring the maze and fountains before the show starts.


The run time for the production is approximately 2 hours and is suitable for ages 3+ (under 3's are free and must be sitting on a parent or guardian's knee).


There is something magical about watching an outdoor theatre production and the kids will love seeing this classic story come to life, in such an impressive setting that is the Alnwick Garden.


Make sure you come prepared for the Northumbrian weather, bringing layers and waterproofs if the weather is being unkind.


The Wind In The Willows.


"Tired of cleaning, Mole ventures out to the riverbank, where he befriends the resourceful Ratty, the gruff Badger and the infamous Toad of Toad Hall (Poop-poop!). Together this Summer, they explore the Wide World, and the Wild Wood, and try to keep Toad out of trouble…


This magical retelling of an old favourite combines all the joy and mystery of Kenneth Grahame’s much-loved classic with the lightness of touch and playful theatricality that award-winning playwright Mike Kenny is best known for.


With beautifully composed music by Christopher Madin, this journey through the seasons to the great battle for Toad Hall is a Summer treat for all the family!"



Look out for Mr Toad causing trouble in the Alnwick Garden.


Local children cast as part of show.


Rather excitingly, local children have been cast to be a part of this outdoor theatre production. Auditions were held in the form of a workshop in the Alnwick Playhouse in May and they have been working hard in rehearsals ever since.


A full run down of the dates and times are below:


Friday 28th July 4pm

Saturday 29th July 4pm

Sunday 30th July 12.30pm & 4pm

Wednesday 2nd August 4pm

Thursday 3rd August 4pm

Friday 4th August 12.30pm & 4pm

Saturday 5th August 12.30pm & 4pm

Sunday 6th August 12.30pm & 4pm

Wednesday 9th August 4pm

Thursday 10th August 4pm

Friday 11th August 12.30pm & 4pm

Saturday 12th August 12.30pm & 4pm

Sunday 13th August 12.30pm & 4pm

Wednesday 16th August 4pm

Thursday 17th August 4pm

Friday 18th August 12.30pm & 4pm

Saturday 19th August 12.30pm & 4pm

Sunday 20th August 12.30pm & 4pm

Wednesday 23rd August 4pm

Thursday 24th August 12.30pm & 4pm

Friday 25th August 12.30pm & 4pm

Saturday 26th August 4pm


Book tickets via the Alnwick Playhouse website remembering to use your 20% off code. Follow the Alnwick Playhouse on Instagram for updates on that naughty Mr Toad's whereabouts.






151 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page